Sydney Kings’ Jaylen Adams wins NBL MVP award



Bryce Cotton’s bid for a third straight NBL MVP has fallen short after Sydney Kings star Jaylen Adams beat him for the illustrious award.

Adams polled 105 votes to edge out Perth Wildcats scoring machine Cotton (94 votes) and Melbourne’s Jo Lual-Acuil Jr (62 votes).

After an injury-riddled start to the season, Adams exploded onto the scene and played a key role in the Kings’ 13-match winning run.

The 25-year-old averaged 20.1 points, 6.1 assists and 5.1 rebounds for the season and became one of the most electrifying players in the league.

Cotton averaged a league-high 22.68 points per game this season, but the Wildcats narrowly missed out on a spot in the playoffs, ending a 35-year finals streak.

Scott Roth won the Lindsay Gaze trophy for coach of the year after guiding the Tasmania JackJumpers into the playoffs in their first season.

The JackJumpers defeated every team at least once this season, a feat never achieved by a club in their first campaign.

MVP finalists Adams, Cotton and Lual-Acuil were joined in the All-NBL First Team by Perth’s Vic Law and Illawarra’s Antonius Cleveland.

The All-NBL Second Team comprised of Melbourne duo Chris Goulding and Matthew Dellavedova, Tasmania’s Josh Adams, Sydney’s Xavier Cooks and South East Melbourne’s Mitch Creek.

The Cairns Taipans also featured, with Keanu Pinder taking home the most improved player gong while Bul Kuol won rookie of the year.

The Damian Martin Trophy for defensive player of the year will be staying in Illawarra, with Antonius Cleveland becoming the second Hawk to win it in as many years after Justin Simon.

Melbourne’s defensive star Shea Ili was named the best sixth man.

Vaughan Mayberry was named referee of the year.


Source: Read More

We’ve Already Come Too Far To End This Now.

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

Get notified about new articles