Australia to list Hamas as terror group



The Morrison government will list the entirety of Hamas as a banned terrorist organisation.

Home Affairs Minister Karen Andrews said the government had “zero tolerance for violence” as she announced the banning of eight groups.

“The views of Hamas and the violent extremist groups listed today are deeply disturbing, and there is no place in Australia for their hateful ideologies,” Ms Andrews told reporters in Canberra on Thursday.

Ms Andrews said she had written to her state and territory counterparts to consult with them on the listing of the entirety of Hamas, and will finalise the listing as soon as possible.

“Should Hamas be listed, it will replace the current listing of Hamas’ Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades (the Brigades),” she said.

Other groups to be listed as terrorist organisations under the criminal code include Hay’at Tahrir al-Sham, Hurras al-Din and the National Socialist Order.

The government has also re-listed Abu Sayyaf Group, al-Qa’ida, al-Qa’ida in the Lands of the Islamic Maghreb and Jemaah Islamiyah.

National Socialist Order, formerly known as Atomwaffen Division, is a nationalist and racist violent extremist group based in the United States.

The listing of the National Socialist Order will come into effect immediately.

The government currently lists 28 terrorist organisations under the criminal code.

Terrorist organisation offences include penalties of up to 25 years in jail.


We’ve Already Come Too Far To End This Now.

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

Get notified about new articles